top of page
Writer's pictureJocelin Deneweth

Review: I'm Glad My Mother Died

Title:  I’m Glad My Mother Died

Author: Jennette McCurdy

Blurb:

Jennette McCurdy was six years old when she had her first acting audition. Her mother’s dream was for her only daughter to become a star, and Jennette would do anything to make her mother happy. So she went along with what Mom called “calorie restriction,” eating little and weighing herself five times a day. She endured extensive at-home makeovers while Mom chided, “Your eyelashes are invisible, okay? You think Dakota Fanning doesn’t tint hers?” She was even showered by Mom until age sixteen while sharing her diaries, email, and all her income.

In I’m Glad My Mom Died, Jennette recounts all this in unflinching detail—just as she chronicles what happens when the dream finally comes true. Cast in a new Nickelodeon series called iCarly, she is thrust into fame. Though Mom is ecstatic, emailing fan club moderators and getting on a first-name basis with the paparazzi (“Hi Gale!”), Jennette is riddled with anxiety, shame, and self-loathing, which manifest into eating disorders, addiction, and a series of unhealthy relationships. These issues only get worse when, soon after taking the lead in the iCarly spinoff Sam & Cat alongside Ariana Grande, her mother dies of cancer. Finally, after discovering therapy and quitting acting, Jennette embarks on recovery and decides for the first time in her life what she really wants.

Told with refreshing candor and dark humor, I’m Glad My Mom Died is an inspiring story of resilience, independence, and the joy of shampooing your own hair.


I usually steer clear of autobiographies. Most nonfiction books are not my cup of tea. I usually find them quite boring. However, since I grew up with ICary, I knew I had to give this one a chance. Heck, I would have read it either way based on that title alone. Because, after all, who could be happy that their mother died? 


I didn’t have a lot of hope when I opened this book up. It’s nothing against Jennette (I’m sure she’s a fantastic writer), but I usually have no interest in the intimate details of celebrities. Whenever I hear one complaining about their star-studded, millionaire life, I usually roll my eyes and ignore whatever facet of media that’s trying to get me to engage with it. So, when I saw the bright yellow cover sitting on the adult library, I thought what the heck? It’s a free read that I can always place back on the shelf.


When I was finally able to sit down and read, I was entranced. Her narrative writing sucked me in. Her humor and portrayal of innocence when depicting her younger years is impressive. As someone who dreams of being an author, I know that takes skill. Her chapters were short and sweet, making it extremely easy to put down and pick up again. I can’t stand a book that puts too much effort in details, but she balances it out. You can feel her pain bleeding through the pages. As I read, I remember getting so angry at her mother, so annoyed at her for just taking the crap her mother gave her. It’s an extremely human depiction of abuse and the unseeable effects it can have on someone, even if they don’t see it as abuse themselves. 


4 out of 5 stars

Would read again

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page