top of page
Writer's pictureJocelin Deneweth

My story

So, I’m starting to email authors about their books and their writing experience, right? The first thing I ask is for them to tell me about themselves, so the people watching can have some context behind them and their books. I realize that it kind of puts them on the spot. They want to talk about their book, not about themselves. If someone were to ask me about that, I’d freeze up.

What should I tell people about myself? Do I vary off from being an author or do I keep the focus on that? Do I mention that I have three dogs, six chickens, and a baby? Do I mention simply that I work in the educational field or specify that I’m a teacher? Do I simply tell them how and why I became a writer? Do I tell them about my middle school teacher that inspired me to write? Or maybe I should tell them about how supportive my parents are?

To be perfectly honest, I’m a boring person. I don’t go out and do fun “postable” things. I hang out at home with my dogs and my baby, perfectly content to curl up on the couch. There’s nothing exciting that I do that will garner any comments or likes. I’m plain old boring, and it used to bother me. With everything I see posting online, I thought I wasn’t doing enough of anything that I should be doing at my age. How do people find the time to travel to these extravagant places? How do they find time for all these projects?

I forget to look back at what I am experiencing throughout the day. I get to see students who have unique perspectives about the world, ones I would never have considered. I get to see my baby grow up, giggling and squealing at the sight of me. I get to live, enjoying the little things when the world seems like it’s getting the better of me.

I think people get too wrapped up in trying to live life that they don’t actually realize that beautiful things are all around them. They’re too focused on showing everyone else what they experienced and focusing on what’s next instead of seeing what they do have, especially considering social media.

My life isn’t postable and that is perfectly fine.

When people ask that question of you, what do you answer with?


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Twilight Review

(Book Review)(Twilight) Title: Twilight Author: Stephanie Meyer So, this is the book that jump started my want to go back and read the...

Writing Routines

They say that you should have a set writing routine. A clear place where you just write, a set time and word count, and so on. I,...

Charles Emerson's Dead Wife

His wife’s dead body lays before him, covered with a white cloth. He half expects, half hopes to see her chest move and that the hospital...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page