top of page
Writer's pictureJocelin Deneweth

Writing Routines

They say that you should have a set writing routine. A clear place where you just write, a set time and word count, and so on. I, however, find that nearly impossible to follow. Time and space makes it so hard to work in an official writing routine. With other responsibilities (like dogs and, well, a baby), it makes it continuously hard to make a good writing routine where I make constant results. 


So, what time do I have then to write? I woke up for work at five in the morning. I come back home at 5:30pm on a good day and 7pm on a bad day. Making dinner, decompressing after a long day, and taking care of both our dogs and our baby. I…I do spend most of that time just hanging with my child. I don’t really have free time until 11:30pm now so…


That’s my current issue. My writing routine is weird because my best thinking comes when I can move around. I gather my thoughts, themes, and whatever else and then sit down to write it out. I don’t care if it’s weird; I think better when I can move. It is weird, however, to try and do that at midnight when you have three other people in the house trying to sleep.


So, there’s that.


To try and implement one, I’ve found a really interesting article that talks about a lot of famous names and what the routines they followed. 

  1. Stephen King: simply, safe. Six pages a day. 

  2. Ernest Hemingway: He writes every morning at first light. I am usually driving to work before first light. I will concede to 4am.

  3. John Steinbeck: With him, he doesn’t worry about word/ page count. He simply sets up to write one page a day. 

  4. “Abandon the idea that you are ever going to finish.”

  5. “Write freely and as rapidly as possible and throw the whole thing on paper. Never correct or rewrite until everything is down.”

  6.  “Forget your generalized audience.” “Pick one person you know.” 

  7. “If a scene gets the better of you and you still think you want it-bypass it and go back.” 

  8. “Beware of a scene that becomes too dear to you, dearer than the rest.”

  9. Say dialogue out loud so it actually sounds like speech. 

  10. Ray Bradbury: Ooo, write a short story every week. Read a short story before you go to bed. (might change that to a chapter before bed.)

  11. Alice Munro: Have a word count 

  12. Write every morning, seven days a week

  13. Write for three hours

  14. Walk three miles

  15. Anthony Trollope: 250 words every 25 minutes, ten pages a day 

  16. The article I got this from (linked below) put through a summary. 

  17. Work every day

  18. Don’t put too much pressure on the final outcome

  19. Find a workspace with minimal distractions. 

  20. Physically prep yourself (workout beforehand)

  21. Daily Quota to meet  

  22. Take breaks at regular intervals

This week, I’m going to implement a few.

  1. Like Stephen King, I’m going to write six pages a day. 

  2. Most talk about working out before writing and having your writing be the first thing you do. In a place that is separated from everything else, I will:

  3. Wake up at 3:45am 

  4. Work out until 4:30am

  5. Write until 5:30am 

  6. 250 words for every 25 minutes (at least)

  7. Read a chapter of book of your choosing

  8. This routine will also be followed before I go to sleep.

  9. Work out for 45mins

  10. Write for an 60mins

  11. 250 words for every 25mins (at least)

  12. Read a chapter of your choosing 

  13. One of these writings will be a short story (once a week)

So, let’s see how much this impacts my sleep. Anyway, if you want more information about the writing routines brought up here, follow the link below. It will take you to a wonderful article that details different peoples writing routines and how it works out for them. 


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My story

So, I’m starting to email authors about their books and their writing experience, right? The first thing I ask is for them to tell me...

Twilight Review

(Book Review)(Twilight) Title: Twilight Author: Stephanie Meyer So, this is the book that jump started my want to go back and read the...

Charles Emerson's Dead Wife

His wife’s dead body lays before him, covered with a white cloth. He half expects, half hopes to see her chest move and that the hospital...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page