top of page
Writer's pictureJocelin Deneweth

Twilight Review

(Book Review)(Twilight)

Title: Twilight

Author: Stephanie Meyer


So, this is the book that jump started my want to go back and read the books of my childhood to see if they are as good as they were when I was a kid. Some context, I read these books back when I was in middle school. I’m now twenty-six. You read these stories very differently from when you’re a kid and when you’re an adult. When I was younger, all I remember was enjoying them. I wouldn’t call myself a “Twihard”, but I did enjoy the books and the movies. I have watched the movies more than once, but I can’t say I favored the books enough to read them multiple times when I was younger. I was never one for romance, and that’s what these books are.

Now, let’s look at it as an adult.

CHAPTER 1

“When life offers you a dream so far beyond any of your expectations, it’s not reasonable to grieve when it comes to an end.” (Twilight P. 1) I love this line. It’s pretty and expresses Bella exactly, especially the end.

Now, the beginning is the most lackluster start I’ve ever seen. I hate it, and I always will. It’s setting up the context and such, but…I don’t know. I feel like Meyer could have done better. I also remember being annoyed that Bella is usually described as a tomboy. As a self-diagnosed tom-boy well into my twenties, I can never see her as one. The one thing I did enjoy as a child is the fact that it took place in Phoenix. When I was a kid, I lived relatively close to there. It was exciting to see a place I knew well enough in a book.

Poor Charlie. I always hated every comment she made about him. She treats her dad like he’s nothing to her. Just a means to an end…someone that provides for her until it’s time to go.

Bella is also dramatic, like, insanely. Maybe it’s just her “adult” vocabulary, but she’s doing too much, as the kids say. “Forks High School had a frightening total of only three hundred and fifty eight…” (Twilight p.9) A frightening amount of kids? Give me a break. Maybe I don’t care because I’ve only ever gone to small schools.

I do really relate to Bella, though. On page 10, it mentions how people see Southerners. I got asked the question, “aren’t you supposed to be tan?” multiple times when I moved to Minnesota. I’m as pale as can be, and I can never tan. All I do is freckle.

Now, let’s talk about Edward. There’s a line in here that immediately makes me feel weird. “I didn’t relate to people my age.” (Twilight p. 10). It makes me look at him a little differently. Considering that he’s over 100 years old…kinda seems like grooming behavior.

Bella is a walking cliche, or maybe this is where the cliche came from. She’s a clumsy, “normal” girl with a love of classical literature. Faulkner, Jane Austen, Shakespeare…she loves them all. Though, she’s a cliche, she’s actually kind of funny. Some of her jokes fall flat, but she’s a sarcastic teen that a lot of us can relate too. It’s too bad that it doesn’t transfer over to the movies too well.

So, with the introduction to the Cullens, I actually found myself enjoying the movie version better. They forced themselves to be introduced. She didn’t just find them glancing around, but they do stand out quite a bit. There are so many things she notices in these chapters that hint at something supernatural. Inhumanly beautiful(p.19), Edward acting like someone called his name when they didn’t(p.20), unmet expectations when it comes to Bella.

When Edward does finally get to “meet” Bella, she’s brought to tears. What did he do? Literally nothing. He’s sitting there, struggling, but, I guess he is glaring at her? She gets so angry she cries…like, it’s not that big of a deal. You don’t know him.


There’s so many mentions throughout the book about Edward sparking fear in her over and over again. That’s a red flag if I ever saw one…but, I’ll mention that more later.

Maybe I enjoyed this book so much as a kid because I see myself in Bella. I know; I’m boring. I had the same experiences moving from Arizona to Minnesota, especially to a small town. I also cry when I’m mad and would rather go unnoticed, even at my own wedding. I enjoy reading, though I never really got into the classics.

She is totally a drama queen, though.

CHAPTER 2

“And it was worse because Edward Cullen wasn’t in school at all.” (Twilight p. 30)

You’ve known him for a day, Bella. Not even…a class period! What’s wrong with you? Have you never had a weird experience with a boy? Gotten a crush? Like, chill, bro.

There is a line where it describes a boy like a golden retriever and, like, how did she know that was going to be a trend? Like, way to go Meyer.

She also reads Wuthering Heights. How unique. Is this where the author of After got her template for her main character? They literally read the same. At least Bella has vampires.

The character development is something else. People completely change, which is maybe a good thing. Charlie absolutely loves the Cullens in the beginning. Of course, this all changes rather rapidly.

Bella gaslights herself, trying to justify Edward’s weird reaction to her that first day. How about instead of justifying it, you just take it for what it is? A red flag! Of course, Bella would also remember the change in eye color from when she first met him to the next day. She’s definitely not already obsessed with him after day 1. Meyer also made her, like, so smart, just to make life easier for her.

Ugh.

So, Edward asked a question, and I don’t know why it bothered me. He just asks her why she came to Forks then if she didn’t like the cold. Dude, most kids don’t get a choice. She doesn’t realize the amount of freedom she has to make those choices. Those aren’t kid choices; they’re adult choices. Her parents just let her do what she wants, but maybe that’s a symptom of divorced parents who are both still in the picture.

My only comments at the end of this chapter were just talking about how obsessed she already is with him. Like, it has only been a day, calm down.

CHAPTER 3

On page 54, it says, “reveling in aloneness instead of being lonely”. I feel this so hard. I’ve always been more of an introvert than anything, wanting time alone over socialization. That doesn’t mean I didn’t have friends, but I wasn’t worried about being alone.

On page 55, it’s been two days since meeting Edward. It’s also when the crash happens and she’s about to die…she is about to die and she can only focus on where Edward stands. What the heck? Also, let’s talk about Edward. Bella is a complete stranger; he’s endangering his entire family's existence for a stranger. When they get to the doctor, Bella just feels like a conspiracy theorist. “My intuition flickered; the doctor was in on it”(Pg. 63). She confronts Edward and, instead of denying it like a logical person would, he just admits to it. Like, you’re over 100 years old. You have to have more tack than that.

On page 67, this line “...was consumed by the mystery of Edward…obsessed with Edward himself…”. Dude, chill out. You’ve known him for 2 days.

Anyway, she’s a girl that’s not like other girls and just as obsessed with guys. She’s just lucky she smells nice and Edward can’t read her mind. Those are the only reasons he’s so interested in her. Because of that, I don’t understand why he’s so willing to endanger his family. Like, ya’ll have known each other for two days!

CHAPTER 4

Not Bella being super creepy two pages into the chapter. “No one else watched him the way I did.” (Pg. 69)

Bella talks so much crap about her friends, especially Jessica. I can’t, however, share her feelings. On page 71, Jessica makes sure to ask Bella if it’s okay to ask Mike out to the dance because she thought Bella might want to. A few lines down, she doubts her friendship, saying that she only enjoyed her popularity more than her actual company. Like, why continue on with your friendship with her?

Here it is. The most awkward moment in a book. Mike tells Jessica to wait up so he can see if someone else (Bella) is going to ask him. Why does he like her? She’s so boring…it’s actually crazy. Now, Bella is put in the awkward situation to decline him, but she doesn’t really. All she says is she has other plans for the weekend. Bella, honey…you’re leading these poor boys on…

Edward puts on this show…saying how he has to stay away from her. How long does that last? Two days? Four? He should have far more willpower than he does. He’s over 100 years old, and he could literally go anywhere until Bella graduates. Why hang around then complain about how you’re putting her in danger? Of course, she’s not going to push you away. She’s a horny seventeen year old.

CHAPTER 5

The same argument is bleeding through the chapters. Edward is threatening his entire family with exposure, and he doesn’t care. He met a girl that is different because of her smell and her barrier to him. It’s simply curiosity.

Like, come on.

On page 92, Bella asks herself if she is a hopeless pushover. Yes, she very much is and that’s probably why I am so bored with her character. A lot of her social issues are simply because of her lack of voice. Eric, the other guy…every person that she is annoyed by is because of her inability to say no. She’s the epitome of damsel in distress. Why do people like her?

Page 97, it talks about Bella fainting at the sight of blood. Is this mentioned again? I need to re-read New Moon and Eclipse because I know blood comes into play a decent amount.

So, I keep finding myself relating to Bella but being equally annoyed by her. She’s a pushover, like me. The creep factor keeps bleeding through from Edward, especially when he says, “you don’t act seventeen.” Even if that’s true, she grew up fast because of her mom, it’s still creepy coming from a hundred-something year old.

CHAPTER 6

After I read this book, I moved to a small town in Minnesota very much like Forks. Of course, I didn’t have all the boys coming after me like Bella, but I did have a lot of curious people trying to befriend me simply because I was something new. The way a small town is described is exactly how it feels in real life. That part is awesome.

Also, she complains about the sky. So did I when I first moved here. Like Bella says, the sky in Arizona feels so far away, while the sky in Minnesota felt so close it was almost ssuffocating.

On page 112, you see Mike and Lauren having a semi-heated exchange. Obviously, Lauren is jealous of all of Bella’s attention with the Cullen’s. She’s being kind of snarky about it and Mike sticks up for Bella. All the while, Bella didn’t care about her new friends. All she does is use them for a place to sit and doubt their intentions. She doesn’t deserve them.

Something that does come up, though, is the bechdel test. Sure, google says it does, but it really doesn’t feel like it. Bella is never once not thinking about Edward. Every thought is consumed by him, and every move she makes is for him. No outside anything.

In this chapter, we get introduced to Jacob. My first comment is, how is he not better than Edward? Bella struggled to talk to Edward, but it is so easy for her to talk to him.

But, now she’s being as bad as Edward. She’s taking advantage of Jacob, commenting on his age and flirting. That is just so gross to me. Beyond that, Jacob brings up werewolves, and Bella has the nerves to act surprised that they have enemies? That vampires are their enemies? Are there no horror movies in this universe? No pop culture? Like, what the heck?

So, yes, the introduction to the love triangle. To be honest, this jacob is 10x better than Edward.

CHAPTER 7

In chapter 7, it starts off with nightmares. All the information that came from the reservation and her own suspicions are combining together. Afterwards, we’re jumping into research. Of course, how dare we even think about looking at pop culture. I love how these books pretend that vampires have never been prevalent in American society.

One thing I did find hilarious is when she decides to go hiking in the forest. Of course, she knows that she shouldn’t be there and even comments on it. Does she turn back, though? Of course not. She starts commenting on whether or not the Cullens could be vampires. Any sane person would have vetoed that stupid idea to begin with. But her evidence? It’s lacking. On page 138, she says, “...with unfamiliar cadences and phrases that better fit the style of a turn-of-the-century novel than that of a twenty-first-century classroom.” We don’t really see that. Even if we did, she acts like that with all her old time novels. He could just be a weirdo like her.

I am again hit by how dramatic she is. He tells her that they can’t be friends and that thought hits her with, “sudden agony of despair.”(139). You’ve known him for a few weeks, Bella. You haven’t even had that many interactions!

On page 142, I’m hit with the nostalgic pain that only comes from a grown child. When Charlie smiles, she is reminded of the man who had run off with her mother. Now that I’m older and my mother is opening up more about her life before kids, it’s weird to think of what she was before she was a mom…sad, even.

Bella is so fake in this book. Faking smiles, faking friendships. She complains about how she can never have a pleasant conversation without Mike asking her out, but she never truly tells him that she’s not into it. It’s kind of ridiculous to be mad about something like that when you’re the one causing it.

Also, she’s a feminist? Definitely, doesn’t come off as one. Talking about Shakespeare and his misogynistic ideals, you’d think she’d act more like a feminist and be far more independent than obsessing over some pale, boring, old guy.

Of course, anyone other than Edward is portrayed as dumb, when really they just haven’t been alive for a hundred years.

I think she did it. I think she’s the one that started the cliche that every book girl has read and loved Jane Austen. I feel like Stephenie only chose Edward so she could use those books to remind Bella of him. Lol, Edmund, Edward… blah, blah, blah.

It talks about Bella falling asleep in the sun…I’m extremely pale, too. Isn’t she worried about getting a sunburnt if she’s practically albino?

This chapter was weird for me. She’s our first book girl, the well-read cliche. Claims to be a feminist, but doesn’t really act like it. Seems to be the girl that Tessa in After is based off of…or they’re both extremely basic.

CHAPTER 8

So, before anything else, I have to comment about Bella wanting a “girls” night. In every other instance, she acts burdened to be friends with these girls. Now, she’s like yay! I need a girl’s night. Ridiculous. #fakefriend. Bella is off to her girl’s night. Uses the line, “...estrogen rush was invigorating.”(152).

Absolutely hilarious and totally cringe.

Jessica mentions how Tyler, cause literally everyone wants Bella, is taking Bella to prom. This angers our protagonist, but like…she’s never once said no to these dudes. Even when I was a kid, I had more of a backbone than her.

She gets to town, leaves her girls to shop. Wanders around and doesn’t pay attention to her surroundings even though she’s in a relatively big city that she doesn’t know. She finds herself in the bad side of town, and now needs to find her way back. Instead, she finds a group of nasty guys wanting to do some nasty things to her. The line, “I was being herded.”(160) struck a chord with me. Do you know how terrifying that would be?

Of course, this is the only time she acts like she has any sort of back bone in her.

And, of course, Edward is there to save her. They hang out, yay. They’re practically going out now.

Two things hit me with this chapter. First, she only uses her friends for convenience. She only ever interacts with them so she doesn’t have to do things alone. She doesn’t actually like them. Two, Edward is what she doesn’t like. Cold. That was her biggest complaint, but because she thinks he’s hot and mysterious, that doesn’t matter.

CHAPTER 9

So, if a man told you that he followed your scent, how would you respond? I would be hella creeped out and block the guy. What does Bella do? Instead, she’s intrigued. She’s blind to all his red flags. It’s like she sees the signs, but steps her foot on the gas to speed through anyway. Also, he talks about his powers and how he can’t read her mind. Instead of finding him strange, she acts like she’s a freak. Like, how low can you think of yourself that that’s your response?

Bella is actually the perfect fit for Edward. They’re both obsessed with each other. Edward says Bella is super observant, but it’s literally just obsession and boredom.

Bella’s confrontation in the book is far better than the movie, something the book did far better.

The ending of this chapter is .

The whole “About three things I was absolutely positive.” Wonderful finish.

CHAPTER 10

My first question is about Edward’s comment when he’s driving. Vampires like to go fast, but why drive when you can run? They aren’t human, so do they get tired of running? Like, physically, not mentally. I wouldn’t even own a car if I was a vampire.

They do have a very cute interaction. Bella’s asking what to do when seeing Jessica again after leaving with Edward. Edward, of course, finds this funny and leaves her hanging dry.

You do get to see Bella changing throughout the book. She starts looking forward to foggy days and hating the sun. All this for a guy, though, kinda feels gross. It’s the exact opposite of what she came in feeling. It’s almost as if she’s using him as a type of therapy, after commenting about her depression throughout the first few chapters.

Can you imagine trying to have a conversation with someone when your maybe-boyfriend can read minds? I would never speak again.

Again, we’re hit with another cliche. Bella doesn’t know how beautiful she is; despite everyone in Forks trying to get with her. How dare a girl know how good looking she is. I wonder, is that where the cliche started?

There are so many lines in here about how scared she is. Why do you want to be with someone that scares you?

Again, though, I find myself related to Bella.

Am I that dull?

CHAPTER 11

The start of this chapter gives me instant nostalgia. “Movie day-the lift in the class atmosphere was almost tangible.” (218). I’m sure we all remember what it felt like when our teacher wheeled in the the television set.

Now, we have to talk about Mike. He likes Bella; she likes him. She, however, is doubly obsessed with Edward. Would she have gotten with Mike if Edward had never come into her life?

Ah, yes. The famous line, “He looks at you like…like you’re something to eat,” (221). Mike being spot on. I would have liked a story about him finding out. Can you imagine him being told he was right from the very beginning?

Stephenie! Did you start the, “I realized I wasn’t breathing”(225) cliche?

We get to see more of her feelings about her dad. I feel like she’s been relatively cold with him, not really treating him like he’s her father. We get this nice little paragraph on page 227 about her sympathizing with her dad when he expresses her worries.

It’s also a super strange coincidence that they love the same old music…wow.

I like how this book acts like vampires never seem to be major in media. If I got all those hints, I would instantly know what was being referenced. Also, if I were Bella, I would strongly doubt his feelings toward me. He only seems interested in her because she’s interesting to him.

CHAPTER 12

I understand why she calls her dad “Charlie”. She didn’t live with him, only saw him for two weeks in the summer and whatnot. However, why does she call her mom “Renee?” Though I ask, the answer is there in front of us. She never acted like a mother to Bella, leaving her to grow up way too fast. It isn’t a mother-daughter relationship. They are far more like equals.

She makes a comment about how she was glad she had never dated anyone in the past. Most people would be embarrassed about that.

I am constantly hit with how much more witting Bella is in the book than she is in the movie. She’s witty here; in the movie, she’s just awkward.

There’s a line on page 245, “His words made me feel like a science experiment.” Of course you’re a science experiment, Bella! You’re brand new to him. Something exciting in a long, and has to be boring, life.

She’s also strangely insightful for a teenager. She talks about the balance in their relationship and decision making. To me, this doesn’t sound like a teenager. This sounds like a reflective adult.

Bella also fluctuates between anticipation and what she describes as, “insidious fear”(251). Why would you be with someone that gives you any sort of insidious feeling? I don’t know. I guess, I am more in favor of relationships that make you feel safe and comfortable. Her entire relationship with Edward is unhealthy. On page 251, she says, “Besides, since I’d come to Forks, it really seemed like my life was about him.” I don’t know. I don’t like your life should be all about a boy.

With all of this, though, the movie does not do the book justice. Bella has more of a personality, as small as it still is. Edward isn’t just a grumpy boy. Bella doesn’t feel like a teenager, but that’s why Edward likes her, right? She has gotten unhealthily obsessed with him in a short time like a teenager would, though.

CHAPTER 13

“Face ashen, eyes wide, I sat like a bird locked in the eyes of a snake.” (264). Beautiful line.

I hate to sound like a broken record, but there are many instances still claiming the toxicity of their relationship. Edward knows it is unsafe, and yet he refuses to leave. He’s a hundred years old, and he should have a far better resolve. It goes on to discuss his mood changes and how dazed it leaves her. He goes into a long paragraph about how much he wants to eat her. Why would you love that? Like, if there weren’t so many witnesses, Edward would have killed her. Instead of being scared for her life, she’s just worried that she would have caused the death of someone else because Edward couldn’t control himself.

Isn’t that insane?

Why not blame the literal vampire in front of you?

There’s a line in here that I found amusing on page 272. It says, “...tried to talk with you like I would any other person.” He doesn’t talk to anyone else. Everyone thinks he’s a freak.

It is good to know that he’s equally obsessed.

I want more explanation about the vampires. They’re cold, right? But, do they just feel eternally cold? It talks about Bella warming him up, but it never states how he feels beyond that.

I do like that there isn’t a “Spider Monkey” here. Instead, he says, “little coward”, which I find more fitting. When she gets on her back, she says that, “It was like clinging to a stone.” (279) Why would you like that? Why wouldn’t you like someone warm?

A lot of this chapter was just, “no, Bella.” Edward also has a lot more humor, so he’s less awkward in the book. Once a guy describes me as food, though, I’m out. 100%. Also, this chapter just makes me thirst for more vamp facts than wanting to mess with the romance.

CHAPTER 14

On page 287, it says, “There’s nothing like an unsolved mystery to keep you up at night.” It’s a reminder of why their relationship is a thing. All built on curiosity…I don’t see anything else there. No real chemistry, no real love. All the other vampires in the story have much cooler love stories. I want to hear about Rosalie and Emmett. Or even Alice. There is so much to her that is so unknown. I’m kind of jealous that Bella gets to hear these stories and we don’t.

Afterwards, it talks about how Edward sneaks into her house and watches her sleep. Instead of being rightfully creeped out or mad, she is embarrassed…because she talks in her sleep. Like, are you so love deprived that you find that cute?

Edward is also super cringe. I’d get annoyed so fast. He keeps booping her nose. Like, you only do that to dogs!

He does mention Charisle and how he doomed people to life they didn’t want. Charisle, as good as he is, is a little selfish.

As always, this version of Edward and Bella are reminders of what was lost between the movie and the books. While I still don’t see a big reason why they’re together besides basic curiosity, they have more going for them. Edward is still 100% a creep, though. Bella has to talk herself out of being scared.

CHAPTER 15

Yay, now we get happy Bella. All it took was a man to pay attention to her. No, scratch that. All it took was a vampire calling her weird and telling her how much he wanted to eat her.

See? Women are easy to understand.

There’s some jokes back and forth about vampire versus human breakfast, blah, blah, blah. Lol. On page 319, it says, “You are utterly indecent-no one should look so tempting, it’s not fair.” Bruh, you’re wearing a khaki skirt.

Bella is worried about how well Edward’s vamp family is going to like her. She doesn’t at all think about potential death. Which, I would. Edward comments, “You’re incredible.” (320) Nah, man. She has no sense of self-preservation.

On page 324, it says, “she was happy, absorbed-she seemed like a new, mysterious being to me then, someone outside the “mom” persona I took for granted.” This is all in reference to Bella’s mother. Out of all the lines in this book, this one hits home the most. As kids, we don’t realize that our parents were once separate people from their persona’s as “mom” and/or “dad”.

Again, I’m reminded about how much more interesting the other stories would have been.

CHAPTER 16

Pg. 334, “It was also unsettling to know that he spoke aloud only for my benefit.” How would you feel about every thought of yours being known? I’d avoid Edward at all costs.

We talk about Edward's adoptive dad’s backstory. Has he ever tried human blood? It almost makes it seem like he hasn’t. On page 341, it says, “since he couldn’t find a companion, he would create one.” Throughout the books, it talks about his compassion. That’s what he brought with him from his human life. He would, though, damn others to live an immortal life craving blood? Vampires are not the good guys. He had to expect some anger toward him from his creations.

Lol, Edward had an emo phase(342).

In this chapter, we see a sweet uncertain Edward. He starts to feel more human the more he hangs out with Bella. Also, we get to see Bella’s lying ability, especially concerning her fear of Edward. Why would you want to be with someone who scares you?

Question about Jasper: can he also feel the mood someone is in?

CHAPTER 17

Bella keeps mentioning how Edward acts like he doesn’t belong in the present day. I think the only real times we see that is his dating preferences. Wanting to be introduced to her father, waiting for marriage…those are all traditional ideals. So many people bring up Meyer’s mormonism and all that, but him waiting until marriage isn’t specific to that religion.

Lol, the only time Bella has a backbone is when people are questioning her and Edward’s relationship.

As always, she talks about how “irrelevant” her friends feel to her. At this point, are they actually her friends? If Edward overshadows literally everything else, what’s the point in her trying to maintain these friendships? Wait, is she even trying?

Pg. 363, “...his unyielding lips moving against mine.” How is that nice? I don’t understand how she’s so attracted to someone so cold and hard. I like my boys warm and soft, I guess.

When Esme talks about the death of her baby, it hits a lot differently as a mother. Now anything with children being put in harm's way messes me up way too much.

I WANT TO READ JASPER’S AND ALICE’S ROMANCE, NOT BELLA’S AND EDWARD’S. So freaking boring. Ugh.

On page 373, Alice talks about how much Bella smells. This is delivered so much better in the movie, a way that emphasizes that not all the family is down with Bella and Edward’s relationship.

This chapter brought some questions. Like…

What do they actually feel? (they clash together and are absolutely fine)

We’ve talked about how cold Edward feels and how Bella brings him warmth. Does he feel cold all the time?

CHAPTER 18

The movie wanted to make the three vampires (Victoria, Laurent, and James) seem more exotic? Like, they dress strangely, especially for the time. It’s like they never stopped dressing as they had when they were human. But, in the book, they’re dressed more conspicuously. They are dressed like backpackers, something humans wouldn’t question if they saw them. They literally just wanted eye candy because the Laurent guy had a nice chest.

I do like this Laurent better. Here he seems open and honest, questioning the Cullen’s out of curiosity. In the movie, it comes off more like he’s a peacekeeper.

The sounds that are made in the movie when they’re protecting Bella in the field are so cringe. The snarls do not sound terrifying. They sound like people pretending to be vampires. It does not translate well to the movie.

Bella is smarter than I give her credit for, for sure. I just think it’s funny that a 17 year old is coming up with a better plan than vampires that are hundreds of years old.

CHAPTER 19

My big question here is why does Bella need a secret cash horde? Afraid Charlie will steal it? Or maybe it’s a remnant of when she was with her mom. Anyway, as always, I hate how Charlie is treated. Poor guy, he’s just trying to do good by his daughter. Of course, I know why she had to do it. She seems fine with it after a second, though, always willing to hurt her family if it means she can be with Edward.

Lol, Rosalie is angry at Bella as if it’s her fault. It’s not like Edward is the one that brought her in the first place. I think Rosalie is hilarious, and she does make some good points. She does stop and ask why she has to help as Bella isn’t one of them. So far, all she has done is harm the family.

Edward has a temper? Red flag, lol. Or maybe it’s her having to watch him to gauge his reaction.

Pg. 404, Jasper says, “I can feel what you’re feeling now- and you are worth it.” Jasper is so much better in the books. He actually talks to Bella. But also, how is she worth it? Question got answered, though. He can feel what other people feel.

CHAPTER 20

The vampires are immune to any human authority. Alice goes twice the legal speed limit? Cops? I think not.

We do get a little more about Jasper’s powers in this chapter. He questions Bella because she’s frightened, though she’s safe with them. He can tell what people are feeling, just doesn’t know why.

They talk about becoming a vampire in this chapter and how unbelievably painful it is. My question is if Carlisle is so compassionate, how could he stand to change them? Wouldn’t death be a more compassionate option? He knew how he felt when he was changed. Why would he put that one on anyone else?

Alice has another vision, but she doesn’t draw it like in the movie. She just talks about it. I think that is far less cliche as all future seers tend to be great drawers.

Throughout this issue of Bella being hunted, you have the Cullens thinking only like vampires with their abilities. They aren’t thinking of human ways of getting people. It is why James won.

Meyers also uses depression a lot.

We get the first time she really thinks of her mom. That’s like the biggest difference between me and Bella. I relate to her a lot, but I wouldn’t disregard my family as much as she does.

I think we have to have a talk with Carlisle about consent.

CHAPTER 21

At least Bella seems to understand what other danger James can pose. Bella has no sense of sense preservation. Of course she’d care about what happens to literally everyone else. She doesn’t seem to consider her mother before this though. Only thinks of Edward. As always.

What’s James’s endgame? Kill Bella then die? He can’t survive fighting 7 angry vamps, and neither can his mate.

So, the whole thing about Alice not being able to see her actions. She made the decision. Wouldn’t Alice see the decision since she already made it?

CHAPTER 22

Poor Jasper…tricked by little old Bella. Do you know how much guilt he must feel over this?

She agonizes over her mother, but can you think about how her mother would feel about her sacrificing herself for her? I’d be pissed at my child. Like, I already lived my life.

Pg. 443, “More fiercely than I would have dreamed I was capable of, I wished for the green, protective forests of Forks…of home.” The complete opposite from the start. Character development right there. All for a boy who isn’t even that cool.

I like the movie interactions better once she’s alone with James. She is actually angry and showing some emotion over the situation instead of just accepting it. She makes a comment about how her death would leave Charlie and Renee never to be harmed. Does she not understand what her death would do to them? It would break them, Charlie especially. She just got her back and let her leave only for her to die?

The James and Alice are too much of a coincidence. Kinda bothers me. It was way to much of a ‘let’s make him worse’ kind of thing.

The Cullens treat other vampires like they’re animals instead of looking at their human side. Bella finally gains some sort of self preservation at the end, though it’s too late. Also, did she interact with James? Why’d she think her death would be quick? They’ve been saying it’s a game to him this entire time.

CHAPTER 23

Pg. 453, “the angel was sobbing tearless, broken sobs.” Poor Edward.

Poor Bella. She is sitting there thinking she’s on fire when it’s really the venom moving through her. I am kind of sad we didn’t get to see Edward struggle, but it first person point of view.

What happened with Alice? Does the video bring forward any memories?

CHAPTER 24

Their interaction when she wakes up is cuter than in the movie. It was cute and you can feel their emotions and both of their relief. You get a small conversation about Alice, but we don’t get to know how she feels. I really want to.

Her mother is here, talking about moving her back. She sits there and acts like she wants to stay because of Charlie. Using her dad to stay with her boyfriend is kind of low, but also kind of understandable.

As always, I find myself feeling for mom and dad. She doesn’t care about them, as long as Edward is in her life. I do respect Edwards' hesitation to change her into a vampire. He didn’t want to damn humans or cause her such pain.

EPILOGUE

It is just about prom and her being forced to go for Edward. She’s still pushing becoming a vampire and he’s still pushing back. We do get a creepy look at Jacob and his family where his father is watching over them. Either way, it isn’t that interesting. One thing to point out, though, is that the book has her wearing heels. The movie and the converse makes so much more sense to the character.

OVERALL

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It’s fine, just a little weird considering the age difference. Of course, I didn’t think anything of it when I was a kid. There are just red flags on both sides, and I think it’s a good lesson on how not to jump into a relationship. The lore is cool, but I just think it would have been better focused on other stories. She creates these amazing side characters and doesn’t do anything with them.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My story

So, I’m starting to email authors about their books and their writing experience, right? The first thing I ask is for them to tell me...

Writing Routines

They say that you should have a set writing routine. A clear place where you just write, a set time and word count, and so on. I,...

Charles Emerson's Dead Wife

His wife’s dead body lays before him, covered with a white cloth. He half expects, half hopes to see her chest move and that the hospital...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page